RSS Twitter Facebook

Follow Us On


Best Children’s Books Announced

January 12th, 2016

This year's Newbery Medal winner by Matt de la Pena

The best children’s books for 2016 were announced yesterday, including the most prestigious ones: the Newbery Medal and the Caldecott Medal.

The announcement was made by the American Library Association.

All the books look so interesting!

Here are some of the winners:

Newbery Medal :

Last Stop on Market Street ,” written by Matt de la Pena and illustrated by Christian Robinson.

It’s a beautiful book about a boy talking with his grandmother during a bus ride to a soup kitchen. Why don’t they have a car? Why do his friends? He wonders why others seem to have so much more than he does. She beautifully explains that being rich in life isn’t about the things you own. It’s rare for a picture book to receive this award. Mr. de la Pena is also the first Hispanic author to win this award. It’s recommended for children between kindergarten and 2nd grade.

When Mr. de la Pena was told he had won, he thought someone was playing a prank on him. Then, during an interview with National Public Radio he said his book has a simple lesson: “You can feel like you have been slighted if you are growing up without, if you have less money, or you can see the beauty in that. And I feel like the most important thing that’s ever happened to me is growing up without money. It’s one of the things I’m most proud of.”

Other prize winners:

Newbery Honor :

The War That Saved My Life ,” by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, aimed at middle schoolers ages 8-12.

Roller Girl ,” written and illustrated by Victoria Jamieson. It’s a graphic novel for middle schoolers ages 8-12.

Echo ,” written by Pam Muñoz Ryan. For middle schoolers ages 8-12.

The Caldecott Medal is awarded to the best picture book. This year’s winner was:

Finding Winnie ,” illustrated by Sophie Blackall and written by Lindsay Mattick. It’s the true story of how a real-life little black bear from Canada becomes the inspiration for perhaps the most loved bears and books of all time,  Winnie the Pooh .

The Coretta Scott King Award  recognizes African American authors and illustrators. This year’s winner is:

Gone Crazy in Alabama ,” written by Rita Williams-Garcia, about two sisters and their journey from Brooklyn to the rural south in Alabama.

Coretta Scott King Honor Awards include:

All American Boys ,” by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely. It’s for kids 12 and up.

The Boy in the Black Suit ,” by Jason Reynolds. Ages 12 and up.

X: A Novel ,” by Ilyasah Shabazz (famous civil rights activist Malcolm X’s daughter) with Kekla Magoon, and comes with rave reviews from comedian Chris Rock and boxer Muhammad Ali. For ages 12 and up.

This a great list to get you started reading … but there’s an even more comprehensive list of this year’s award winners on the American Library Association website .

P.S. An article in Business Insider last week  talked about one habit that most of the world’s most successful and wealthiest people have in common. What is it? Reading!  America’s richest man and the world’s second richest, billionaire Bill Gates was total bookworm as a kid and still is. He even has his own book review blog !

Print Friendly

Leave a Comment

If you’re under 13, please submit your parent’s email address so that we can get their permission.